Being In The Moment

How many times have you gotten behind a slow driver and become angry and frustrated? After all you have things to do, places to be. Have you ever gotten upset at a slow cashier in the market? These old tapes keep us from being in the moment and making choices that will bring us peace. Barbara De Angelis tells a wonderful story about being stuck at a traffic light that seemed endless. Then she realized she was in Southern California by a beautiful beach next to the ocean. It’s a place millions of people come to every year and she didn’t notice because she was distracted.

Too often we put ourselves on automatic pilot; we get stuck in our old habits. We don’t pay attention to what we are doing. We take pride in being multi taskers, and we move out of the flow. A Course In Miracles says, “Let all things be exactly as they are.” That is hard to do when you are in pain, when you want things to be different. When we let go of resistance we clear our heads and we make better decisions. The wife of a close friend of mine died recently. When we spoke he said, “I have to accept what is. I don’t have to like it, I just have to accept it. When I do I can move on. Then I can find peace.”

Years ago I was walking my dog. He was having a great time, wagging his tail, smelling the flowers, just enjoying everything around him. My mind was off on church business. The dog seemed to realize I was in dreamland, he came over and starting licking my hand and I realized I was missing out on a nice day with the dog I loved. We need to be in the moment, where we are fully present. As Tich Nhat Hanh reminds us, “Breathing in I calm my body. Breathing out I smile. Living in the present moment, I know this is a wonderful moment.”

About revrgfox

Rev. Ron Fox serves as the minister of the Center for Spiritual Living-Space Coast in Rockledge, Florida. Prior to serving in Florida, he was the minister of the Spiritual Enrichment Center in Peoria, Arizona; he has also served in Auburn and Seal Beach, California. Rev. Ron has served as an Ecclesiastical Representative, Chair of the Asilomar Planning Committee, and Chair of the UCSL Awards Committee. He is a gifted speaker and a published writer, and his inspirational style is coupled with a keen sense of humor, making him a favorite with audiences everywhere he has spoken. Rev. Ron and his wife Becky, a UCSL Practitioner, graphic designer and artist, reside in Merritt Island, Florida.

Posted on May 13, 2015, in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

