Counting Your Blessings

Wikipedia defines a blessing as, “The infusion of something with holiness.” I really resonate with that definition, because in some manner it speaks to me of having the ability to bring a blessing to anything I choose. I can recognize blessings everywhere, and when I do I feel better, have more positive energies and in turn deepen my recognition of my oneness with Spirit.

All too often we take so much for granted, whether it’s a relationship, the wonder of the stars, the sun the moon the list is endless. We all do it. Why not take some time to be silent, look around and see just how much you have to be thankful for. My guess is you will be very pleasantly surprised. Steve Maraboli wrote, “Live your truth. Share your enthusiasm. Take action towards your dreams. Walk your talk. Dance and sing to your music. Embrace your blessings. Make today worth remembering.” What wonderful advice.

You and I decide where we see blessings. Several weeks ago I had my one year post op appointment with a surgeon who operated on my hand. She said my progress was amazing and I was discharged. Obviously, that felt great. What felt even better were the lessons I learned about letting someone love me. As I was recovering, my wife drove me everywhere, cut my food, changed my dressings and held ice on my incision to help release the pain. In the midst of a lot of pain I was able to see a blessing and feel loved. It’s all a matter of attitude. No matter what life is showing us we can choose to see a blessing. As a wise lady named Cheri Huber wrote, “When you stop comparing what is here and now, with what you wish were, you can begin to enjoy what is.”

About revrgfox

Rev. Ron Fox serves as the minister of the Center for Spiritual Living-Space Coast in Rockledge, Florida. Prior to serving in Florida, he was the minister of the Spiritual Enrichment Center in Peoria, Arizona; he has also served in Auburn and Seal Beach, California. Rev. Ron has served as an Ecclesiastical Representative, Chair of the Asilomar Planning Committee, and Chair of the UCSL Awards Committee. He is a gifted speaker and a published writer, and his inspirational style is coupled with a keen sense of humor, making him a favorite with audiences everywhere he has spoken. Rev. Ron and his wife Becky, a UCSL Practitioner, graphic designer and artist, reside in Merritt Island, Florida.

Posted on September 27, 2014, in Inspirational and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

